When I think back to this semester of grad school, there is  much that I have gained and continue to learn from. As a teacher I feel like I am always learning something new, wither it is from grad school or my students. With this I also find myself questioning what we are doing and if it is effective.

At the beginning of the semester we were asked what a number told us about a student. If the student was a level 1, 2, 3, or 4 what we would know about them. And well I thought I had an idea of what these numbers meant for our students and in all reality all they tell me what this student did on a test. We cannot group our students just based on their test scores. We have to look deeper into who they are as learners.

While reading Choice Words and Opening Minds, I have been able to reflect on my teaching and think about why I went into teaching. Everyday I look my 24 students and I am reminded of everything that I do and how much of an impact it has on them. I have always wanted to help people and enjoy that I can now do that daily with my students. I had wanted to be a teacher since I was a struggling student in school and now that I have accomplished my dream I want to help my students reach theirs. Helping to grow and learn is more than anything I could have hoped for. When looking at what I do with my students and thinking of Johnstons’ text I know that what I am doing is making a difference.

As I reflect on my teaching I also reflect on my schooling as a student. And well I was a struggling learning and had to overcome so many challenges. I was never told I was ‘good’ at a subject nor was I ever told I was ‘bad’ but I just knew in my mind that i was not good at school. My teachers were a wonderful support system that would never let me fail and found any way to help them. This is something I strive for, for my students. I try to encourage them in all aspect of life and school. I want them to see what they are capable of. I have been taking what Johnston says and see what I can add to my classroom- we are now trying to be mindful of our word choice, listening to each other and questioning things are unsure of.

This semester has had my mind turning with questions and ideas of way to help my students. There are so many things that I know I am capable of helping my student obtain.